{
 "case_id": "bx-r6-punjab-vb-05-011",
 "alias_case_ids": [],
 "state": "Punjab",
 "district": "SAS Nagar",
 "trial_court_name": "Additional Sessions Judge, SAS Nagar",
 "court_level": "sessions",
 "conviction_date": "2018-02",
 "conviction_year": 2018,
 "incident_date": null,
 "case_title_or_number": "SAS Nagar Chairman convicted of bribery, Additional Sessions Judge, SAS Nagar (2018)",
 "category": "corruption",
 "subcategory": "bribery_pc_act",
 "outcome_type": "conviction",
 "officers": [
  {
   "rank": "Chairman",
   "unit": "Punjab Public Service Commission, SAS Nagar district",
   "publish_grade": "unnamed",
   "name": null,
   "name_public": null,
   "display": "Chairman, Punjab Public Service Commission, SAS Nagar district"
  }
 ],
 "victims": [],
 "sections": [],
 "sentence": "7 years imprisonment; fine: Rs. 75 lac",
 "appeal_status": "none_known",
 "appeal_url": null,
 "source_kind": "press_release",
 "source_agency": "punjab-vb",
 "primary_source_url": "https://vigilancebureau.punjab.gov.in/uploads/articles/vb_26.3.18.pdf",
 "secondary_sources": [
  "https://web.archive.org/web/20210306/https://vigilancebureau.punjab.gov.in/uploads/articles/vb_26.3.18.pdf"
 ],
 "summary": "A Punjab Vigilance Bureau press note records that the Additional Sessions Judge, SAS Nagar convicted a Chairman, Punjab Public Service Commission, SAS Nagar district, in February 2018. The conviction was for bribery. The sentence recorded is: 7 years imprisonment; fine: Rs. 75 lac. The date given is the date of the agency's release; the judgment date is not stated separately. This is the agency's account of the court's decision; the official's name is withheld, and any later appeal is not reflected unless noted. Verification level V1: the name and conviction wording are matched in the source entry, but the date or case number shown is as extracted from the entry and was not matched in the cited passage.",
 "court_quote": null,
 "verification_status": "V1",
 "service": "civil",
 "post": "Chairman",
 "department": "Punjab Public Service Commission",
 "government": "state",
 "watch": "babuwatch",
 "case_number": "Not stated in the source"
}
