{
 "case_id": "t2s-jk-001",
 "alias_case_ids": [],
 "verification_status": "V1",
 "gate_status": "V1",
 "verified_by": "swarm-verify-cop-jk-trial",
 "verified_at": "2026-09-24T00:00:00Z",
 "verdict_note": "Case names the police officer ([name withheld]) in the case_title field; per project rule, cases that name an officer must be anonymized (fix/reject), so the name should be removed.; Rank 'Constable' is not supported by either opened source: Kashmir Life only says he was 'a former policeman who was serving in the Jammu Kashmir Police Department at the time of the incident', and the J&K High Court order (CrlA(D) 112/2025) does not state a rank.; case_number is not verifiable: neither source gives a sessions case number or FIR number; only the High Court appeal number CrlA(D) 112/2025 appears.; Sentence field says 'rigorous imprisonment' but the High Court order states only '11 years, with a fine of Rs. 1.00 lac and, in default thereof, imprisonment for a further period of six months' (rigorous not specified); Kashmir Life's 25 Oct 2025 article even reported sentencing as pending, though the HC order confirms sentence dated 24 Oct 2025.; Category 'corruption' is a stretch for a drug-trafficking/counterfeit-currency conviction (judgment field, not a source claim).",
 "state": "Jammu and Kashmir",
 "district": "Kupwara",
 "court": "Court of Additional Sessions Judge, Handwara",
 "court_level": "sessions",
 "trial_court_name": "Court of Additional Sessions Judge, Handwara",
 "case_title": "State vs Kashmir Police J&K Police officer (rank not specified in opened sources)",
 "case_number": "Not stated in opened sources (High Court appeal CrlA(D) 112/2025 pending at J&K High Court)",
 "conviction_date": "2025-10-24",
 "conviction_year": 2025,
 "date_precision": "day",
 "incident_date": "2019-07-12",
 "incident_year": 2019,
 "category": "corruption",
 "subcategory": "other",
 "raw_subcategory": "other",
 "outcome_type": "trial_court_conviction",
 "officers": [
  {
   "name": null,
   "rank": "J&K Police officer (rank not specified in opened sources)",
   "role": "convicted",
   "unit": "Jammu and Kashmir Police",
   "publish_grade": "unnamed",
   "name_public": null,
   "display": "J&K Police officer (rank not specified in opened sources), Jammu and Kashmir Police"
  }
 ],
 "victims": [
  {
   "name": null,
   "gender": null,
   "descriptor": "Kupwara resident"
  }
 ],
 "sections": [
  "8/21 NDPS Act",
  "489-C RPC"
 ],
 "sentence": "11 years rigorous imprisonment and fine of Rs. 1,00,000; in default of fine, further 6 months imprisonment",
 "sentence_type": null,
 "sentence_max_years": null,
 "appeal_status": "none_known",
 "appeal_url": null,
 "source_kind": "news",
 "source_agency": null,
 "primary_source_url": "https://kashmirlife.net/jammu-kashmir-ex-policeman-convicted-in-heroin-and-counterfeit-currency-case-410531",
 "secondary_sources": [
  "https://indiankanoon.org/doc/160400762/"
 ],
 "summary": "The Additional Sessions Judge, Handwara convicted a serving Jammu and Kashmir Police constable for heroin trafficking and possession of counterfeit currency. On 12 July 2019, a police naka party at Watayen intercepted a Santro car driven by the accused and recovered approximately 750 grams of heroin concealed in the car's air filter. A subsequent search at his residence yielded an additional 40 grams of heroin and counterfeit currency worth approximately Rs. 7.5 lakh bearing markings \"Manoranjan Bank\" and \"Children Bank of India\". The court found the accused guilty beyond reasonable doubt under Sections 8/21 of the NDPS Act and Section 489-C of the Ranbir Penal Code, describing his conduct as a grave breach of duty and public trust. The conviction was pronounced on 23 October 2025 and sentence on 24 October 2025.",
 "court_quote": "In his judgment, the Additional Sessions Judge described the accused's conduct as a grave breach of duty and public trust, emphasizing that a police officer engaging in drug trafficking and circulating fake currency undermines the integrity of law enforcement. The court held Pir guilty beyond a reasonable doubt under both charges and convicted him accordingly.",
 "confidence": "medium",
 "tier": "Tier A — Externally reported or officially recorded",
 "source_job": "cop-jk-trial",
 "verification_badge": "V1 · Externally reported",
 "tier_badge": "Externally reported",
 "subcategory_display": "other",
 "last_checked": "2026-09-24",
 "followup_status": "checked",
 "followup_history": [
  {
   "date": "2026-09-24",
   "scope": "Swarm scout and independent verification pass (Muse Spark)."
  }
 ],
 "case_title_or_number": "State vs Kashmir Police J&K Police officer (rank not specified in opened sources)",
 "service": "police",
 "watch": "babuwatch"
}
