# CBI case: four CRPF personnel sentenced to life (killing of nine civilians; CBI PR dated 25.03.2008)

HTML version: [https://datalibertarian.in/babuwatch/trial-court/t2w3-23-003](https://datalibertarian.in/babuwatch/trial-court/t2w3-23-003)
Record JSON: [https://datalibertarian.in/babuwatch/data/case/t2w3-23-003.json](https://datalibertarian.in/babuwatch/data/case/t2w3-23-003.json)

Trial-court conviction (Not stated in index entry (CBI case); CBI Court). Convicted 17 March 2008. Appeal status: No appeal known.

## Summary

The official CBI press-release index (archived) lists a release dated 25.03.2008 titled 'Four C.R.P.F. personnel given life sentence for killing nine civilians'. The index entry does not name the personnel, the convicting court, the place of the incident, the case number, or the sections. The linked full press-release page was not captured by the web archive and no corroborating report could be verified in-session.

## Report card

By judgment dated 17 March 2008, the Not stated in index entry (CBI case) convicted 4 police personnel, namely: Personnel, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF); Personnel, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF); Personnel, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF); Personnel, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF).

- Register number: MN 01 CW 0004
- Case reference: Sessions Case No. 199(K)/2001; Criminal Appeal No. 63 of 2008 (Gauhati HC); reported in the judgment of the Additional Sessions Judge (Fast Track Court) No. 4, Kamrup, Guwahati
- Court and date: The Not stated in index entry (CBI case), 17 March 2008
- Officer(s) at the material time: Personnel, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF); Personnel, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF); Personnel, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF); Personnel, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF)
- Present service status: Not ascertained from the cited sources.
- Provisions invoked: Section 302 read with Section 34 of the Indian Penal Code, 1860; Section 307 read with Section 34 of the Indian Penal Code, 1860; Section 326 read with Section 34 of the Indian Penal Code, 1860
- Finding of the Court (extract): “This appeal is directed against the judgment and order, dated 17.03.2008, passed by the learned Additional Sessions Judge (FTC) No. 4, Kamrup, Guwahati, in Sessions Case No. 199(K)/2001, convicting the accused-appellants under Sections 302, 307 and 326 IPC, read with …”
- Verdict, sentence and quantum: Conviction recorded by the trial court. Sentence: Life sentence
- Present status of the proceedings: No appeal is known from the cited sources.
- Source orders: [Judgment / order (primary source)](https://web.archive.org/web/20080911085950id_/http://cbi.nic.in/pressreleases/pressrelease.php); [Permanent link to this record](https://datalibertarian.in/babuwatch/trial-court/t2w3-23-003)

## At a glance

- Category: Violence & unlawful detention
- Sub-category: disproportionate force
- Location: Imphal West, Manipur
- Officers: Personnel, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF); Personnel, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF); Personnel, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF); Personnel, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF)
- Sentence: Life sentence
- Verification: V1 · Trial court
