CW-2025-0018Puducherry, PuducherryJudgment 17 September 2025

Puducherry Police Police officer and Others vs State by Superintendent of Police

The Supreme Court dismissed the appeals of police accused Nos. 2 to 4 and affirmed their convictions and 7-year sentences for the custodial death of a Puducherry man @ a Puducherry man, who was brutally beaten at Odiansalai police station on 29 December 1993 and died of multiple blunt-force injuries. The Court held the Madras High Court was justified in affirming the trial court's judgment, while allowing the appeals of accused Nos. 6 to 8. In the companion appeal it upheld the doctor's Section 201 Part II conviction for the false first post-mortem but modified his one-year sentence to a Rs 1,00,000 fine payable to the Puducherry Legal Services Authority. Officer names and ranks are not stated in the available Supreme Court text.

Externally reportedV2
What this record means

This page documents a court-adjudicated case from the judgment and cited sources below. Findings are attributed to the court; this record does not add findings of its own.

How verification works →

Report card

By judgment dated 17 September 2025 in Crl.A. Nos. 1169-1172 of 2019 (with Crl.A. No. 17 of 2019), the Supreme Court of India (Coram: B.V. Nagarathna, R. Mahadevan, JJ.) affirmed the conviction of 3 police personnel, namely: Police officer, Odiansalai Police Station, Puducherry Police; Police officer, Odiansalai Police Station, Puducherry Police; Police officer, Odiansalai Police Station, Puducherry Police.

Register number
PY 01 CW 0004
Case reference
Crl.A. Nos. 1169-1172 of 2019 (with Crl.A. No. 17 of 2019)
Court and date
Supreme Court of India (Coram: B.V. Nagarathna, R. Mahadevan, JJ.), 17 September 2025
Officer(s) at the material time
Police officer, Odiansalai Police Station, Puducherry Police; Police officer, Odiansalai Police Station, Puducherry Police; Police officer, Odiansalai Police Station, Puducherry Police
Present service status
Not ascertained from the cited sources.
Provisions invoked
Not stated in the cited sources
Finding of the Court (extract)
“We find that the High Court was justified in affirming the judgment of conviction and sentence insofar as the appellants/accused Nos.2, 3 and 4 are concerned.”
Verdict, sentence and quantum
Conviction upheld. Sentence: imprisonment; maximum substantive term of 7 years.
Present status of the proceedings
The judgment is recent and may be subject to appeal; the pendency of an appeal is not a finding.

Compiled from the judgment and the cited sources. Findings are those of the court; this card adds none of its own.

Judgment dated 17 September 2025. This judgment may still be subject to appeal; initiation or pendency of an appeal is not a finding.

Recorded allegations

1
Custodial deathPrimary
Material fact supported

Reliable material supports a specifically documented fact relevant to that allegation, not necessarily the full allegation, causation, intent, unlawfulness, or responsibility.

Official finding: supports allegation.

What the court found

Holding not recorded separately.

“We find that the High Court was justified in affirming the judgment of conviction and sentence insofar as the appellants/accused Nos.2, 3 and 4 are concerned.”

Institutional response

2
Date not established

Conviction

Concluded
Trial court (as recorded in the Supreme Court of India judgment) External · Binding

The trial court convicted the accused police personnel, as recorded in the Supreme Court of India judgment.

Conviction · Supports allegation.
Source: Crl.A. Nos. 1169-1172 of 2019 (with Crl.A. No. 17 of 2019)
Not yet re-checked.
17 Sep 2025

Order issued

Concluded
Supreme Court of India External · Binding

The Supreme Court of India dismissed the appeal and upheld the convictions of police personnel.

Conviction · Supports allegation (appellate affirmance; trial conviction separate card).
Source: Crl.A. Nos. 1169-1172 of 2019 (with Crl.A. No. 17 of 2019)
Not yet re-checked.

Follow-up history

1
19 Sep 2026

(Round-8 full re-verification: published record re-checked against the judgment text (outcome, officers, quote, key facts) plus methodology-compliance pass; skills-guided adversarial re-verification of the published record against the judgment text (reverify/t1-*/adversarial-8.jsonl))

Corrections (0): No corrections recorded.

Review: Solo Staff combined review (one combined attestation) — not yet recorded.

Keep exploring

These records are listed together because they share a state or a topic. That does not mean they are connected.