Trial-court conviction
t2-04-005Shivamogga, KarnatakaConvicted 6 May 2019

State by Karnataka Lokayuktha, Shivamogga vs Shivamogga Police Police Sub-Inspector

The Special Judge, Shivamogga, in Spl.(PC) Case No.03/2010 on 6 May 2019 convicted PSI of Town Police Station, Sagar, for offences under Sections 7 and 13(1)(d) r/w 13(2) of the Prevention of Corruption Act, imposing a sentence the High Court later described as not less than the statutory minimum. The [name withheld]'s appeal for enhancement of sentence (Crl.A.No.507/2021 under Sec.377 CrPC) was dismissed by the Karnataka High Court on 8 December 2021 for unexplained 391-day delay, leaving the conviction and sentence undisturbed. Bribe amount, trap date and exact sentence are not stated in the appellate order.

Trial-court convictionV1
What this record means

This page documents a trial-court conviction from the cited sources below. It is not a High Court or Supreme Court finding; the conviction may have been appealed. Findings are attributed to the convicting court; this record does not add findings of its own.

How verification works →

Report card

By judgment dated 6 May 2019, the Special Judge, Shivamogga convicted the Police Sub-Inspector, Town Police Station, Sagar, Shivamogga district.

Register number
KA 14 CW 0002
Case reference
Spl.(PC) Case No. 03/2010 (Crl.A.No.507/2021, Karnataka HC); reported in the judgment of the Special Court, Shivamogga (Lokayukta)
Court and date
The Special Judge, Shivamogga, 6 May 2019
Officer(s) at the material time
Police Sub-Inspector, Town Police Station, Sagar, Shivamogga district
Present service status
Not ascertained from the cited sources.
Provisions invoked
Section 7 of the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988; Section 13(1)(d) read with Section 13(2) of the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988
Facts in brief
The Special Judge, Shivamogga, in Spl.(PC) Case No.03/2010 on 6 May 2019 convicted PSI of Town Police Station, Sagar, for offences under Sections 7 and 13(1)(d) r/w 13(2) of the Prevention of Corruption Act, imposing a sentence the High Court later described as not less than the statutory minimum. The [name withheld]'s appeal for enhancement of sentence (Crl.A.No.507/2021 under Sec.377 CrPC) was dismissed by the Karnataka High Court on 8 December 2021 for unexplained 391-day delay, leaving the conviction and sentence undisturbed. Bribe amount, trap date and exact sentence are not stated in the appellate order.
Verdict, sentence and quantum
Conviction recorded by the trial court. Sentence: Term not stated in HC order; HC notes the sentence imposed was 'not less than the minimum provided' (statutory minimum 6 months under pre-2018 Sec.7 / 1 year under Sec.13(2))
Present status of the proceedings
The conviction was affirmed in appeal.

Compiled from the judgment and the cited sources. Findings are those of the court; this card adds none of its own.

Special Judge, Shivamogga convicted the accused police personnel on 6 May 2019. The conviction was upheld on appeal. Appeal text.

Sentence & charges

Sentence: Term not stated in HC order; HC notes the sentence imposed was 'not less than the minimum provided' (statutory minimum 6 months under pre-2018 Sec.7 / 1 year under Sec.13(2))

Sections: PC Act 1988 s.7; PC Act 1988 s.13(1)(d) r/w s.13(2)

Appeal status

Upheld on appeal. Appeal text

Keep exploring

These records are listed together because they share a state or a topic. That does not mean they are connected.