State (DVAC) v. Tenkasi Police Sub-Inspector of Police
The DVAC official 'Convictions during 2011-12' list states that a Sub-Inspector of Police and a Head Constable of the Crime Police Station, Tenkasi, were convicted on 14.09.2011 and sentenced to 3 years RI with a Rs.5,000 fine (the list does not say whether the term/fine is per officer or joint). Convicting court not stated; names, case number and sections not published.
This page documents a trial-court conviction from the cited sources below. It is not a High Court or Supreme Court finding; the conviction may have been appealed. Findings are attributed to the convicting court; this record does not add findings of its own.
How verification works →Report card
By judgment dated 14 September 2011, the Not stated on DVAC list (Special Court for PC Act cases) convicted 2 police personnel, namely: Sub-Inspector of Police, Crime Police Station, Tenkasi; Head Constable, Crime Police Station, Tenkasi.
- Register number
- TN 76 CW 0004
- Case reference
- State (DVAC) v. Tenkasi Police Sub-Inspector of Police; reported in the judgment of the Special Court for PC Act cases (convicting court not stated on DVAC list)
- Court and date
- The Not stated on DVAC list (Special Court for PC Act cases), 14 September 2011
- Officer(s) at the material time
- Sub-Inspector of Police, Crime Police Station, Tenkasi; Head Constable, Crime Police Station, Tenkasi
- Present service status
- Not ascertained from the cited sources.
- Provisions invoked
- the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988
- Finding of the Court (extract)
- “A Sub-Inspector of Police and a Head Constable, Crime Police Station, Tenkasi was convicted on 14.09.2011 and sentenced to undergo R.I for 3 years and fined Rs.5,000/-.”
- Verdict, sentence and quantum
- Conviction recorded by the trial court. Sentence: 3 years RI (as stated; per-officer apportionment not stated)
- Present status of the proceedings
- No appeal is known from the cited sources.
Compiled from the judgment and the cited sources. Findings are those of the court; this card adds none of its own.
Not stated on DVAC list (Special Court for PC Act cases) convicted the accused police personnel on 14 September 2011. No appeal is known from the cited sources.
Sentence & charges
Sentence: 3 years RI (as stated; per-officer apportionment not stated)
Sections: PC Act 1988
Appeal status
No appeal known.