Trial-court conviction
t2w3-23-003Imphal West, ManipurConvicted 17 March 2008

CBI case: four CRPF personnel sentenced to life (killing of nine civilians; CBI PR dated 25.03.2008)

The official CBI press-release index (archived) lists a release dated 25.03.2008 titled 'Four C.R.P.F. personnel given life sentence for killing nine civilians'. The index entry does not name the personnel, the convicting court, the place of the incident, the case number, or the sections. The linked full press-release page was not captured by the web archive and no corroborating report could be verified in-session.

Trial-court convictionV1
What this record means

This page documents a trial-court conviction from the cited sources below. It is not a High Court or Supreme Court finding; the conviction may have been appealed. Findings are attributed to the convicting court; this record does not add findings of its own.

How verification works →

Report card

By judgment dated 17 March 2008, the Not stated in index entry (CBI case) convicted 4 police personnel, namely: Personnel, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF); Personnel, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF); Personnel, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF); Personnel, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF).

Register number
MN 01 CW 0004
Case reference
Sessions Case No. 199(K)/2001; Criminal Appeal No. 63 of 2008 (Gauhati HC); reported in the judgment of the Additional Sessions Judge (Fast Track Court) No. 4, Kamrup, Guwahati
Court and date
The Not stated in index entry (CBI case), 17 March 2008
Officer(s) at the material time
Personnel, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF); Personnel, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF); Personnel, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF); Personnel, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF)
Present service status
Not ascertained from the cited sources.
Provisions invoked
Section 302 read with Section 34 of the Indian Penal Code, 1860; Section 307 read with Section 34 of the Indian Penal Code, 1860; Section 326 read with Section 34 of the Indian Penal Code, 1860
Finding of the Court (extract)
“This appeal is directed against the judgment and order, dated 17.03.2008, passed by the learned Additional Sessions Judge (FTC) No. 4, Kamrup, Guwahati, in Sessions Case No. 199(K)/2001, convicting the accused-appellants under Sections 302, 307 and 326 IPC, read with …”
Verdict, sentence and quantum
Conviction recorded by the trial court. Sentence: Life sentence
Present status of the proceedings
No appeal is known from the cited sources.

Compiled from the judgment and the cited sources. Findings are those of the court; this card adds none of its own.

Not stated in index entry (CBI case) convicted the accused police personnel on 17 March 2008. No appeal is known from the cited sources.

Sentence & charges

Sentence: Life sentence

Sections: IPC 302 r/w IPC 34; IPC 307 r/w IPC 34; IPC 326 r/w IPC 34

Appeal status

No appeal known.

Keep exploring

These records are listed together because they share a state or a topic. That does not mean they are connected.